Opinions for being colourless manga artist

Big Boar

Hello all. I'm a manga artist, but I'm REALLY bad at color, so all my works are colourless and black and white. I can't tell complex colours and I barely recognise differences of basic colors into similar colours like pink into light red. I probably cannot tell differences if they're separated apart. Is this kind of art bad for artist? Color isn't a must for being a manga artist right? Also want to share my work

• Like 1
  • Cool (Kakkoii) 1

I second what the others are saying :3 I love black and white comics! And it's not just manga :3

The cool thing about black and white is you could combine your contrast with screentones, or you could rely solely/predominately on ink. Like...the artist who did Blame and Noise use only ink techniques. Or like Junji Ito, he uses mad crazy ink skills!

Charles Addams, Edward Gorey, David Small, and many other western artists use grey scale, too :D Gorey's more into the ink techniques, while Addams & Small used a lot of washes.

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...

Color theory becomes really important for artists who want to delve into use of colors (people who do advertising and design), BUT, like everyone says manga's don't really use colors inside your actual panels (unless its a special addition, cover, or inlays usually the cost of time would make that specific manga pretty expensive). Generally you would use tones/screentones/overlays and you can definitely take on your own personal style (sharper lines, contrasting weight difference when it comes to more dynamic pictures). Also, if you DID want to add color to your work, you could just choose one highlighting color - no shades or highlights. For example if you were writing a horror story you could throw in red as a bold pop to important scenes.