Greeneyes

Short Story Submissions

This contest will be you creating a short story

Max of 7,000 words

and no specific kind of story.

More of a concept than a complete story

Some people say a sound takes them places, a memory, a event, a past love they remember when they hear a certain song.

But what if when you heard a sound you were literally taken somewhere else?, transported, through time and space, against your will?

Well that’s me. My whole life.
Never in one place for long, cause when I hear that sound, that long deep thrum, like a distant wave of thunder, I’ll switch, into the unknown.

There are others like me, I’ve met them from time to time, some relish the chance to escape, others are in agony from being torn from their family against their will

Me? I’ve always been a drifter of sorts, never really calling anywhere home
I studied, I lived, but I never chose somewhere to settle

I’ve looked for answers, but one thing I’ve had to do is learn to fight, fast.
Cause just after a switch they will come. And they won’t rest.

I look down from the top of the building, my hand on the sheath of my blade at my side, ready to draw it and strike in an instant, the world is slowly starting to shake, a low hum fades into the distance, I’ve just switched. They will be here soon.

I find a ladder at the side of the building and climb down, my boots sending a faint *tump tump* through the air as I descend. 

One of them appears above me and I slide down the ladder, drawing my blade from it’s sheath
it jumps down, screams and them lunges at me, it’s shadowy black claws nearly scraping my face, I swiftly swing my blade upwards and through the monsters arm, it howls and rushes at me but I duck to the side and stab my blade into it’s chest, it evaporates into a wisp of smoke